Friday 06 Dec 2019

Court Extends Voter Registration in 36 Counties


RALEIGH, N.C. – Within the past hour, Wake County Superior Court Judge Donald Stephens ordered that the regular voter registration deadline be extended until close of business on Wednesday (October 19) in 36 counties receiving assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency in the wake of Hurricane Matthew.

“Our agency appreciates Judge Stephens’ thoughtful consideration of this matter and will fully comply with his order,” said Kim Westbrook Strach, State Board executive director.

In the other 64 counties, the regular voter registration deadline ends today. Would-be voters may still register and vote at the same time during the 17-day early voting period, which begins Thursday (October 20) and runs through November 5.

Same-day registration is available during the three-week period after the regular registration deadlines,” Strach said.  “We encourage those displaced by Hurricane Matthew to take advantage of same-day registration opportunities throughout their county.”

The voter registration deadline is extended to close of business on Wednesday (October 19) in the following counties in the wake of Hurricane Matthew:

Beaufort County, Bertie County, Bladen County, Brunswick County, Camden County, Carteret Count, Chowan County, Columbus County, Craven County, Cumberland County, Currituck County, Dare County, Duplin County, Edgecombe County, Gates County, Greene County, Harnett County, Hoke County, Hyde County, Johnston County, Jones County, Lenoir County, Nash County, New Hanover County, Onslow County, Pamlico County, Pasquotank County, Pender County, Perquimans County, Pitt County, Robeson County, Sampson County, Tyrrell County, Washington County, Wayne County, and Wilson County.

Please visit for more information.

Leave a Comment welcomes and encourages all our users to contribute and voice their opinions. We do not discriminate against any political or ideological views. In order to maintain a civil discussion, the following guidelines will be adhered to:

1.Profanity is not allowed. Comments containing anything that is deemed profane may be deleted entirely.
2.Hate speech will not be tolerated. Comments against a person based on their race, religion, sexual orientation, gender, etc. may be deleted entirely.
3.Threats will not be tolerated. Comments threatening harm or violence to a person or persons may be deleted entirely.

Goldsboro Daily News staff reserves the right to approve, edit, or delete any comments as they see fit based upon these guidelines. User-submit views and comments do not necessary reflect the views and opinions of staff and management of