Monday 11 Nov 2019

Michael Martin Tournament Brings In Over $60,000 For UMO

This year marked the 32nd Annual Friendly Mart/Michael Martin Memorial Golf Tournament held in memory of NC Highway Patrolman, Michael Martin, a Mount Olive College alumnus who was killed in the line of duty. The event supports student scholarships and the Trojan Club at the University of Mount Olive.

The tournament which had a total of 210 golfers featured breakfast by Stevens Sausage, a barbecued chicken lunch, a silent auction, and giveaways courtesy of many sponsors and supporters.

Tournament Coordinator Neil Price who works with Friendly Mart, the underwriting sponsor of the tournament, said, “I would really like to extend a special thanks to our vendors and suppliers as they are an integral part of making the tournament the success it is through their monetary support and participation. We also want to thank those who donated to our raffle. Local businesses truly showed their dedication to the community and to the students at the University of Mount Olive. We couldn’t do it without their support.”

According to initial reports, this year’s tournament proceeds are over $60,000, bringing the total to over $880,000.

Dwayne McKay, Director of External Affairs for Athletics said, “I appreciate all who helped make this a successful fundraising event. Many of the sponsors that I spoke to enjoyed playing in this tournament and supporting a great cause.”

Mike Lee, Dave Grogan, Jessie Green, and Reid Clark – sponsored by Waste Industries were the first flight winners. Second flight winners were Brad Amersen, Jamie Edwards, Scott McIntosh, and Vince Carfaro – sponsored by RJR.

Dr. David L. Poole, UMO President, stated, “On behalf of the UMO community, we would like to thank the many sponsors and players who contributed to the success of the 32nd Annual Friendly Mart/Michael Martin Memorial Golf Tournament. The success of this tournament is far-reaching and impactful for our students and the Trojan Club. We are deeply grateful to tournament director Neil Price and committee members including Dwayne McKay, Bill Clingan, A. N. Martin, Steve Martin, Ernie Taylor, Dean Rouse, Jimmy Adams, and all of the vendors and participants that made this event happen.”

Leave a Comment welcomes and encourages all our users to contribute and voice their opinions. We do not discriminate against any political or ideological views. In order to maintain a civil discussion, the following guidelines will be adhered to:

1.Profanity is not allowed. Comments containing anything that is deemed profane may be deleted entirely.
2.Hate speech will not be tolerated. Comments against a person based on their race, religion, sexual orientation, gender, etc. may be deleted entirely.
3.Threats will not be tolerated. Comments threatening harm or violence to a person or persons may be deleted entirely.

Goldsboro Daily News staff reserves the right to approve, edit, or delete any comments as they see fit based upon these guidelines. User-submit views and comments do not necessary reflect the views and opinions of staff and management of